About the Institute

The Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies is Nigeria’s apex institution for research and advanced studies in law. It was a brainchild of the legal academic community established in March 1979. One of the main ideas in founding the Institute was to establish it as the centre for advanced legal research for all the Nigerian universities with Faculties of Law, so that all postgraduate work could be undertaken there under the joint auspices of the most experienced and learned academic lawyers available in the country, whether indigenous or foreign.

Read more ...

Our Degree Courses

Choose from postgraduate courses, Continuing professional development (CPD), online distance learning and short courses.

Post Graduate Diploma in Legislative Drafting (PGDLD)


Masters Degree in Legislative Drafting (LLM)


Doctor of Philosophy in Legislative Drafting (Ph.D)


NIALS Journal of Comparative and International Law Call for...

The NIALS Journal of Comparative and International Law (NJCIL) is an open access and peer-reviewed

Read more ...

Obituary Announcement Professor Michael Ayodele Ajomo Ph.D. (Manchester),...

On behalf of the Management and staff of the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS),

Read more ...

Two NIALS Research Fellows Invited to the 5th Symposium...

Two Research Fellows from the Institute,

Read more ...

View All News Posts


The Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS) co-operative Multipurpose Society Ltd elected its new Executive Officers on August 20, 2016 at Ayo Ajomo Auditorium, Akoka, Lagos. Representatives of the Director, Co-operative Services, Lagos State supervised the election

Mr. Peter Anyebe, Senior Research Fellow, NIALS emerged as the new President, Mr. Elvis Obaseki elected as Vice President; Mr. Faronbi O. Olatunji, General Secretary and Mrs. Temitan I. Ibironke as Treasurer. Other Officers include: Mrs. Danisi Roseline- Financial Secretary, Mrs. Ebiere Ogege- Assistant Financial Secretary and Emmanuel Egar- Assistant General Secretary. The following are the ex-officio members: Alhaji Huasani Alli, Mr. Ogunsanmi Bamidele, Dr. Anyanogu Uluocha, Mrs. Alleleme Kemi and Mr. Oyedeji Idowu.
Members of the Electoral Committee were:
Mr. Oluwagbami David     –     Chairman
Mrs. John Okeke Rita     –     Secretary
Adalikwu, Godwin Atsu     -    Member
Mrs. Ikareye Deborah    -    Member

In his acceptance speech, the President, Mr. Peter Anyebe (Esq.) thanked all members of Staff for the confidence reposed on him to lead the new executives. He promised to operate an open door policy of administration and to treat   all co-operators on equal bases.

The new executives were sworn in by the Acting Institute Secretary, Mrs. SN Jerry-Imahiagbe with a charge to improve on the welfare of co-operators.

The new executives were formally presented and adopted by members at the Annual General Meeting held on August 23, 2016 at Ayo Ajomo Auditorium, Akoka, Lagos

The Director-General NIALS, Professor A. O. Adekunle, Mr. Abdul Rasaq Representative of the Director, Co-operative Services, Lagos State, Mrs. Adigun. Area Officer, Mainland Co-operative, Mrs. Sowole, Mainland Area Office amongst other dignitaries graced the occasion and congratulated the NIALS co-operative Multipurpose Society Ltd on its Annual General Meeting.