About the Institute

The Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies is Nigeria’s apex institution for research and advanced studies in law. It was a brainchild of the legal academic community established in March 1979. One of the main ideas in founding the Institute was to establish it as the centre for advanced legal research for all the Nigerian universities with Faculties of Law, so that all postgraduate work could be undertaken there under the joint auspices of the most experienced and learned academic lawyers available in the country, whether indigenous or foreign.

Read more ...

Our Degree Courses

Choose from postgraduate courses, Continuing professional development (CPD), online distance learning and short courses.

Post Graduate Diploma in Legislative Drafting (PGDLD)


Masters Degree in Legislative Drafting (LLM)


Doctor of Philosophy in Legislative Drafting (Ph.D)

No events

View All Events


First Intral Africa Award Writing Competetion

 Powered by Association of Young Arbitrators in Nigeria

Call For Articles


Read more ...

Nigerian Association of Law Teachers (NALT)


Read more ...

View All News Posts


Commercial Law

Head of Department:

Professor Idornigie Obo Paul, (SAN)

Chair, SMA Belgore Professor of Law
  • Prof Bolaji Owasanoye (Teslim Elias Professor of Law)
  • Prof. Yinka Omorogbe (Nebo Graham Professor of Law)
  • Dr. Nlerum Francisca (Senior Research Fellow)
  • Dr. Taiwo Ogunleye (Senior Research Fellow)
  • Fatima Bello (Research Fellow I)
  • Tersoo Shankyula (Research Fellow II )
  • Enuma Uzoamaka Moneke (Research Fellow II/Deputy Coordinator, CCLE)
  • Eruaga Osato Anastasia (Research Fellow II )
  • Odum Emeka Henry (Research Fellow II )
  • Ogochukwu Mgbakogu Juliet (Research Fellow II)
  • Ikobi- Anyali Awele (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Adindu- Egeruoh Izuoma (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Okeke- Ogugua Chizoba Ada (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Hatsiwa Esther (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Amadi Gary Kelechi (Assistant Research Fellow II)

Private and Property Law

Head of Department:

Professor Adewopo Adebambo

Chair, Ademola Edu Professor of Intellectual Property Law
  • Helen Chuma-Okoro (Research Fellow I)
  • Nwabuzor Chukwuemeka Castro (Research Fellow II/Coordinator CCLE)
  • Ajetunmobi Ridwaan Lanre (Research Fellow II)
  • Nwamu Gloria Kanwulia (Research Fellow II)
  • Ezirigwe Jane (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Ekong Ofonmbuk Esther (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Maduka Ngozi Emmanuella (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Omole Temitope Alice (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Joshua Akobella Tommy (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Tola – Lawal Eme Eyo (Assistant Research Fellow)

International Law

Head of Department:

Dr. Okon Emmanuel Edem

Senior Research Fellow
  • Professor Peter Akper, SAN (Jadesola Akande Professor of Law & Director of Research)
  • Dr. Ifekandu Ibe Okegbe (Research Fellow I)
  • Dr. Adebisi Arewa (Research Fellow I)
  • Agu Benedict Okechukwu (Research Fellow I/Coordinator Case Law & Litigation Unit)
  • Laura Ani (Research Fellow I/Research Assistant to the Director of Research)
  • Terhemen I. Iber (Research Fellow II)
  • Adejoke Adediran (Research Fellow II)
  • Etomilade Oduola Ifeoluwa (Temilolu Research Fellow II)
  • Sawyer Damilola Odunayo (Research Fellow II)
  • Mmakwe Andy Ozoemenem (Research Fellow II)


Ag. Institute Librarian:

Dr. Jide Edward Owoeye

  • Mrs Ufuoma Lamikanra (Principal Librarian)
  • Ms. Kemi Olowu (Principal Librarian)
  • Mrs Anyaogu Uluocha (Principal Librarian)
  • Mrs John-Okeke Rita (Principal Librarian)
  • Mr Hussaini Ali (Principal Librarian)
  • Miss Ezeh Rose (Principal Librarian)
  • Miss Gabasa Paraya (Librarian II)
  • Mr Oguche David (Librarian II)

African and Comparative Law

Head of Department:

Mr. Anyebe Peter Ademu

Senior Research Fellow
  • Professor Animi Awah (Professor of Law & Director of Studies)
  • Madu Vivian Chukwudumebi (Research Fellow II)
  • Eboh Nnenna Joy (Research Fellow II)
  • Omojola Oluwakemi Modupe (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Okparavero Prudence Adula (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Idowu Temidayo Oluwaseun (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Anozie Ijeoma Francesca (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Ajanwachukwu Chibueze Okike (Assistant Research Fellow II)

Public Law

Head of Department:

Dr (Mrs) Ibe Okegbe-Ifeakandu

  • Professor D. A. Guobadia (Professor of Law & Former DG)
  • Oluwagbami David Akinola (Senior Research Fellow)
  • Dr. Udombana Ngozi Justina (Senior Research Fellow/Head of SPGS)
  • Dr. Fatima Waziri Azi (Research Fellow 1)
  • Dr. Okupon Adesanya Irepitan (Research Fellow II)
  • Uche Onyinyechi Liian (Research Fellow II)
  • Kenechukwu Chinenye Mbajiorgu (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Azoro – Amadi Oluchi (Assistant Research Fellow/Research Assistant to the Director of Research)
  • Ogwuda Ebele Gloria (Assistant Research Fellow)
  • Pooola Benjamin Sijuade (Assistant Research Fellow)